New-Zealand! - Reisverslag uit Hastings, Nieuw Zeeland van Sander Gier - WaarBenJij.nu New-Zealand! - Reisverslag uit Hastings, Nieuw Zeeland van Sander Gier - WaarBenJij.nu

New-Zealand!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sander

19 Februari 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Hastings

Dear friends, it's time for a new story again!
After a beautiful bushwalk on Mount Wellington, I left the great guys that let me stay at their place, and flew to Sydney. I couchsurfed for two nights with Joe, before I said goodbye to Australia and welcome to New-Zealand.
My first days I spent in Auckland, where I met a really cool friend from Hawaii, a magician. Unfortunately he left the next day, so I tried to find someone to travel with, and found a Dutch and German girl with a car. We drove around the north island for four days, saw the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula, the glowworm Waitomo Caves, a big waterfall and Hobbiton, really nice!
In Rotorua I decided to go my own way again. I explored this strange town with it's sulphur smell, steam and mud pools everywhere; even my lovely hostel had a natural spa! In this hostel I met Alys and Irese from Wellington, who were so kind to take me with them to Orakei Orake (a geothermal wonder park), Kerosene Creek (natural hot stream where we had an awesome swim!) and the Redwoods, a beautiful forest. We had an absolutely amazing time! Unfortunately they left the next day, but took me to Taupo, and we saw the Hooka Falls on our way. Luckily Wellington is on my way, so I can see them again (very soon probably). In Taupo I spent three nights, did a nice walk, to the Hooka Falls again, met very funny Dutchies, and decided to do the Tongariro Crossing, a very famous 19,4 km hike through volcanic landscape. For that I hitchhiked to Turangi first, and stayed in a hostel to do the Crossing from there. I took the shuttle in the early morning, and started walking. The weather was perfect, and I decided to do the Mount Ngauruhoe summit (an extra climb) too. Mount Ngauruhoe (2300 m) is the Mount Doom from the Lord of the Rings movies, how cool would it be to climb it! It was cool indeed, and hard.. It took me two hours of struggling, two steps forward and one back (because of the little stones you don't have good grip), I survived some big falling rocks, but finally I made it! And it was incredible! If I'd have a ring, I would have thrown it in the crater, while I enjoyed the amazing views all around.
Going down took me just half an hour, sliding down, trying not to fall. After that I walked the rest, 13 km, pretty fast, trying to avoid getting tired, but enjoying the stunning Emerald Lakes, the Red Crater and all the beautiful views. It was an awesome day!
The next day I hitchhiked to Hastings, to stay with Jelle v.d. Have and his family for a few days. I got a lift from an English couple in a camper first, and after that I had to get a lift for 160 km, but the very first car stopped for me, with a Maori couple with one of their granddaughters in it. They were really nice to me, gave me an ice cream and a lunch (fish and chips), told me about their culture and even invited me to stay at their place if I'd come along! And most important, I have to make baby's as soon and as many as possible, that's what they told me ;)
And now I'm here, the v.d. Have family is so nice to let me stay here, even taking me out to do and see things here, and saturday I'll go with them to Wellington, as Jelle is going to study there. For now, my plans are to stay in Wellington for a few days, before heading off to the South Island!
New Zealand is maybe even better than Tasmania, the people are so friendly and the hostels and travellers are nicer as well, I'm enjoying it! Just seems like my travels are getting better and better every day! But of course I miss you guys home too, and as I don't have much money left, I'll be home in about two months, I reckon... Something to look forward to for you! But now, I'm still here, and I look forward to see even more beautiful nature and meet more lovely people! See you there,
Cheers, Sander

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Hastings

Australia and New-Zealand

De zin en reden van mijn tussenjaar!

Recente Reisverslagen:

14 April 2014

Like a dream...

31 Maart 2014

All good things end..

19 Februari 2014

New-Zealand!

01 Februari 2014

Tassie!

06 Januari 2014

Fraser is already over..
Sander

Actief sinds 12 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 359
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6681

Voorgaande reizen:

16 December 2013 - 09 April 2014

Australia and New-Zealand

Landen bezocht: