Tassie! - Reisverslag uit Hobart, Australië van Sander Gier - WaarBenJij.nu Tassie! - Reisverslag uit Hobart, Australië van Sander Gier - WaarBenJij.nu

Tassie!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sander

01 Februari 2014 | Australië, Hobart

Hi friends and family, time for a new story!
I'll start where I stopped last time, in Rainbow Beach. After Fraser Hannah and I stayed for two nights at the hostel, chilled at the beach, got the bus back to Brisbane, slept on the airport and got our flight to Sydney in the early morning.
In the meantime I had found two German girls on Gumtree (Marktplaats) who offered a lift in their campervan from Sydney to Melbourne, and they were happy to take me with them. That day Hannah took her plane towards home, and the next day I took my campervan towards Melbourne. It was a really nice journey, the first night the police stopped us, because we were driving too slow, the next day we chilled and snorkeled on a beautiful beach in Narooma, and spotted two seals (zeehonden), we spent the evening at Mallacoota, a beautiful little touristic town.
The next day we did a walk on the 90 mile (150 km) beach at Lakes Entrance, and visited Wilsons Prom National Park, an amazing park with kangaroos and other wildlife everywhere. In the evening we arrived in Melbourne, where we got hit by another car, while we were standing for a red traffic light. That was maybe the weirdest thing that happened so far; it had just become green, we started to drive, as two guys just hit us, quite hard, in the back. Luckily the campervan had a sort steal bumper, so there was no damage on the van, and the guys just had an old car, with lots of scratches. But the guys themselves were the strangest thing of all, the driver got out, looked at his own car, said nothing, couldn't explain why he hit us, couldn't remember his own mobile number, and the other guy just stayed where he was, staring at us... They were not drunk, but definitely not 100%.
After those experiences I booked a hostel for two nights, and tried to find a place to wwoof, werken voor kost en inwoning op(hobby-)farms, in Tasmania, my next destination. I didn't want to stay too long in Melbourne, it was a nice city, but extremely expensive, and hot. That night I got terrible belly-ache, so bad that I couldn't sleep, and barely walk, and after calling a nurse-line for advise the guys from the reception got a taxi for me to the nearest hospital. There I had to wait one hour for a bed (or actually a reclining chair), while the pain reached it's peak, I probably never suffered that much... Then, finally I got a 'bed', and a drip (infuus), while waiting two more hours for a doctor to come, with a woman next to me shouting 'ooi..ooi' every ten seconds. Yeah, I have got a bad impression of the Australian hospitals. Fortunately, after an hour the pain started to fade away, and I fell asleep. After one hour I woke up, realizing that all the pain was gone! The doctor came, said some things I didn't understand (just that it was all fine, no infections or anything in my blood), and, it just turned 6 am, I got a taxi, back to the hostel. The driver told me it would be 42 degrees that day, so I did some early morning shopping (healthy food) and slept the whole day. So far my worst experience in Australia..
The next day I got a place with a family in northwest Tasmania, took a plane to Launceston, and arrived the next day at the home of my wwoof-hosts. They were really nice, father and mother with two lovely kids, a boy, Patrick, 11 years old, and a girl, Samara, 9 years old. The mother did home-schooling in a Waldorf style with her kids, so I felt like at home, working 5 hours a day, having fun with the kids, eating good food and doing some really nice trips with the family. We even released a lost rockhopper penguin, with no succes, instead of going away he followed us, the little thing, and caught ten escaped bulls, suddenly standing in the backyard.
But after 11 days, I left them, stayed for 3 days with another wwoof-family, which was also nice, before I booked my flight from Hobart to Sydney, 3 feb, and from Sydney to Auckland, New-Zealand, 5 feb!
That day I hitchhiked, first time ever, from Ulverstone to Launceston, saved 30 dollars and some comfort and time. I stayed in a really nice hostel, and the next day I spent at a beautiful swimming lake, getting more and more tanned. In the evening I came back to the hostel, and they told me there was a guy who offered a lift to Hobart, he would leave in ten minutes. So I thought, why not, took my backpack and food and got in the car of Samuel, a 27 year old student from Hobart. I told him I had no accommodation for the night, and he answered I could stay all the nights at his place, for free, no worries at all! He lives in a really nice house in beautiful Hobart with his housemates Harry, Bobby and Felicity. They are all extremely nice and cool, just how I expected Australians to be, I am really lucky to stay here. As Harry and Felicity are having a weekend with their family, Harry told me I could stay in his room, use his kingsize bed, computer, Felicity's bike, it's all amazing! They don't even close the front door if they are away, really strange for me.
Yesterday I took the bike for a long drive to MONA, the famous museum here in Hobart, which was fantastic! I even got a 8 dollar beer (normal price here...) for free cause the guy who sold them had special Dutchie prices for me (he had just been in Utrecht, so we had a nice chat).
And today I went to the Salamanca Market, where I ate 'oliebollen' (they were pretty bad, in comparison with our Dutch ones), and saw 'poffertjes'. And today or tomorrow Samuel and a friend of him will take me to Mount Wellington for a bushwalk.
I can say that Tassie has definitely given me my best time (with the Fraser tour) since I'm on my journey. If I can, I'll come back, cause there are still a lot of beautiful things I haven't seen here, and I really like the atmosphere and people I met here!
Dear readers, I've come to the end of my story, hope you enjoyed it! I'll try to add some pictures for you!
Best wishes from Tassie, Sander

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Hobart

Australia and New-Zealand

De zin en reden van mijn tussenjaar!

Recente Reisverslagen:

14 April 2014

Like a dream...

31 Maart 2014

All good things end..

19 Februari 2014

New-Zealand!

01 Februari 2014

Tassie!

06 Januari 2014

Fraser is already over..
Sander

Actief sinds 12 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 264
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6685

Voorgaande reizen:

16 December 2013 - 09 April 2014

Australia and New-Zealand

Landen bezocht: